top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid A. Van Wie

Robert Traver Award Writers Webinar - April 18 & 26 - Sessions Recorded

Frenchman's Pond - made famous in Robert Traver's stories about fly fishing.


Submission rules & entry form are available at:

In April, I was honored to host two panel discussions with past Robert Traver Fly-Fishing Writing Award winners and honorable mention writers, talking with them about their stories and their writing process. The Zoom webinar event was intended primarily for aspiring writers and future entrants in the Traver Award competition who are looking to raise their writing to the next level.

The John D. Voelker Foundation and the American Museum of Fly Fishing joined forces to offer this opportunity for the first time to provide inspiration, insight and advice from our distinguished panelists.

Both events were recorded and are available for viewing on the AMFF website at:

Session 1: Monday, April 18


  • Seth Norman, Traver Award winner 1998, Edith’s Rule; past book columnist/editor, Fly Rod & Reel magazine

  • Richard Chiappone, Traver Award winner 2002, Opening Day; 2013, Requiem for a River Bend; Honorable Mention 2019, The Honeymooners

  • Jimmy Watts, Traver Award winner 2019, A Wet World That Burns

  • Joel "Jody" Martin, Traver Award winner 2021, Simon’s Daughter

  • Paul Kennebeck, Honorable Mention 2021, The Lower Squall

Session 2: Tuesday, April 26


  • Alex Benoit, Traver Award winner 2020, Blue Lines

  • Michael Doherty, Traver Award winner 2008, The Shining Path; 2011, Seven Great Flies for the Boston Metropolitan Area; Honorable Mention 2019, Les Poissons Toxiques

  • David Gray-Clough, Honorable Mention, 2020, The Best Fish I Ever Caught

  • Paige Wallace, Honorable Mention 2021, Pretending to Listen

  • Mike Chalmers, Honorable Mention 2021, Solitude

You can read all the honored stories from 2019, 2020 and 2021 on the AMFF website at

Seth Norman's story, Edith's Rule, and other past honored stories are available in the anthology In Hemingway's Meadow (DownEast Books, 2009). A second anthology called Love Story of the Trout (2010) is also available from numerous on-line vendors and used book sellers.

If you enjoy the Traver Award stories and events like this writers webinar, please support the American Museum of Fly Fishing and/or the John D. Voelker Foundation.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page